A Bowlful of Cherries

Celebrating Matty and Noah

Matty can read.

I wasn’t sure at first.
But then I started adding some flashcards into his worktime, ones that required him to be familiar with words.
He did great at it.
But his speech therapist and I weren’t sure if he was only matching the first letter sound with the object (that was labeled with the word itself along with the picture) or if he was actually reading the whole word.
So I slowly began to take away the label away and just work with pictures.
Then I required him to take the word cards I made and match them with the picture cards I made.
Recently, I just had him read the words and tell me what it said, no picture reference at all.
And he KNEW THE WORDS.
He knew the difference between cat and hat. And train and rain.
He can read.
He’s very thoughtful about it too.
Totally warms my heart with pride.

This video shows some work from today.
He responds with his language of ASL.

Written by Donna

28 Aug 2007 at 215pm

Posted in Misc.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s our boy!

    mike

    28 Aug 2007 at 222pm

  2. That warms my heart:) Matty is amazing… and you are both amazing too. The amount of work you put in is so wonderful and admirable. I have shown that video 5 times now with pride!! Basil and I both have smiles on our faces… Matty is one smart cookie.

    Jill

    06 Sep 2007 at 1104pm


Comments are closed.

